The $40,000 Bet

TRYING TO INSPIRE A MILLENNIAL

My family plan was as abruptly authored as my decision to start prepping.  In hindsight, I should have worked on a marketing plan to deliver said plan to my millennial children and son in law.  I think my 23 year old daughter seriously thought I was joking as she read a well thought out plan filled with contingencies, zero day events and smoke signals.  Four days later, she and my son in law came over to check my temperature and give me season one of, “Doomsday Preppers”.

I laid out the basics; a 72 hour plan based on a normal emergency like an ice storm but then proceeded right to power grid failure. Oops. She refused to believe a word of it. My son in law was “All In” because as I was hammering on my oldest daughter, he was Googling words like, “prepper” finding plenty of reasons to buy guns and ammo. I lost him when I declared we would start with food and water storage.  Ultimately, my daughter realized I knew things she did not but even so, I could not put dates on any prediction. So she asked, “How long do we have and how much do you want to gamble on your nutty predictions?” I thought about it as I topped off my drink and returned to her with the following;

“Within the next ten years we will no longer connect freely to the internet, supply chains will be non existent, ATM’s will have stopped spitting out $20’s, power and heat will be scarce and the government will be incapable of helping us.”  She replied, “How much do you wart to bet?” I said, “a car.” She said, “how much of a car?” “$40,000 car”. She agreed to begrudgingly begin to assist in the acquisition of preps with the insurance plan of a new car if the shit has yet to hit the fan by 2024.

Any takers on the same bet?

Leave a Reply

